AMERICAN LEGION - DISTRICT 2

         

 

Welcome!

.

Winter has been so long and miserable, it’s nice just to hear, say and think “April”! And with that, keep in mind that April is Children and Youth Month. Everyone is encouraged to support and promote all children and youth programs. Children are our most precious natural resource, as well as the future of our organization and our country.

March was a busy month for the Auxiliary. I appreciate the invitations to the Legion birthday dinners, but vacation to sunny Florida got in the way of most of them. I’m sure they were all very good.

On March 2nd I attended the Junior Conference at Lamberton. I always enjoy seeing our young girls learning how to take part in meetings and learning the correct way to conduct them. They are the ones who will be taking over in a few years so please give them all the support you can. New officers were elected.

I know they’ll do a fantastic job, just like this year’s girls did. If you haven’t already done so, please remember Honorary Junior President Kirsi’s project with a donation.

I was able to attend the Appreciation Rally at the Richfield Post on March 8th. The 2nd District Auxiliary is about ½ of a percentage point behind the 9th District so keep working on those memberships. It would be great to end up in 1st place at the end of the year.

Please note the change of dates for this year’s convention. The Convention Committee was running into too many problems, one being housing, so it was decided to move it to June 6 and 7. It will still be held in New Ulm.

As always, please remember our Veterans, both past and present. Without them, we would not be living in the greatest country in the world.

Jeannette Mertens
2nd District President

Auxiliary Officers

2013-2014

Office Officer Spouse Email
*President Jeannette Mertens James jlmerte@newulmtel.net
*1st Vice Pres. Vida Bacon vbpig@newulmtel.net
*2nd Vice Pres. Darlene Breamer vbreamer@bevcomm.net
*Exec. Board Merry Hollis Dave dmhollis31@gmail.com
*Exec. Board Diane Strassburg Dennis strassburg1948@yahoo.com
*Secretary/Treas. Lesley Christoffer Dave daveles@frontiernet.net
Historian Ruth Clarken
Chaplain Kathy Burket kmbnpmejb@yahoo.com
Sgt – At – Arms Vickie Milbrath Jim milb0040@frontier.net
Parliamentarian Judy Ackerman Judy_ackerman2002@yahoo.com
*Advisor Naomi Hill Ryan ryhill@swwnet.com

*Denotes Executive Board Members.  These are the only voting members.  Board meetings are open to  anyone who wishes to attend.

2nd District American Legion Auxiliary Chairmen – 2013-2014

 

 

Americanism Darlene Breamer vbreamer@bevcomm.net
Auxiliary Emergency Fund Gloria Lindquist  
CCSI Jean Heine eandjh@frontiernet.net
Children & Youth Mykia Lundberg brownm26@hotmail.com
Community Service Judy Kumerow kumerow@rrcnet.org
Education Mavis Wolfgram mnmavis@hotmail.com
Election Judge Nina Schaffer mikethemailman@yahoo.com
Election Tellers  Georgeen Dietz gldietz007@hotmail.com
Joan Burt clintonburt@frontier.com
Field Service Jacqui Pribyl erv_jack@yahoo.com
Finance (2) Cindy Reese mreese@woodstocktel.net
Finance Naomi Hill ryhill@swwnet.com
Girls State Cheryl Brown ck6brown@embarqmail.com
Home Service
Junior Activities Jane Moody 30jnmoody@gmail.com
Leadership Jean Heine eandjh@frontiernet.net
Legislation Rosie Wendland rdwendland@hotmail.com  
Membership Vida Bacon vbpig@newulmtel.net
Memorial Kathy Burket kmbnpmejb@yahoo.com
Memory Book Julie Mertens mertens109@yahoo.com
Memory Book Sydney & Madisyn Mertens
Music Connie Roessler
National Security Phyllis Postel pmpostel@yahoo.com
Nominations  (3) Cindy Reese mreese@woodstocktel.net
   Raleen Tolzmann tolzmannct@mail.com
Past Presidents’ Parley Martha Johnson
Poppy Eunice Moldestad
Public Relations Marcia Hanson marson@hickorytech.net
Resolutions & By-Laws Judy Ackerman   Judy_ackerman2002@yahoo.com
Resolutions & By-Laws Rosie Wendland rdwendland@hotmail.com
Resolutions & By-Laws Jane Moody 30jnmoody@gmail.com
Unit Development & Revitalization Charlotte Zschetzscke charlzschet@frontiernet.net
Unit Development & Revitalization Cindy Reese mreese@woodstocktel.net
Veterans Affairs & Rehab Diane Strassburg strassburg1948@yahoo.com
 
   

 


 

*Denotes Executive Board Members. These are the only voting members. Board meetings are open to anyone who wishes to attend.



Click on this for Junior Auxiliary page.